Who rules in the EU?

The 751 members of the European Parliament are elected every five years in elections involving the people of the 28 member countries. (AFP)

The EU unites seven institutions representing more than 500 million people

In the EU there is no president or prime minister. There are seven European institutions, each one with its own organization and its representatives.

Each institution is responsible for a series specific tasks, but they all work together to respond to the needs of the European citizenship.

Making political decisions

Running institutions, drafting laws and applying them in 28 different countries is not an easy task. Decision making in the EU is shared between four institutions: the European Commission, the European Parliament, the European Council and the Council of the European Union.

The European Commission is like the EU’s main administration: about 30,000 civil servants prepare reports, studies and proposals of law which must later be approved (or not) by the European Council and Parliament.

The Commission is represented by 28 commissioners, one for each Member State. Each commissioner is in charge of a specific political area: education and culture, energy, health, transport … Their job is to think what is best for the citizens of the Union, suggest laws and make sure Treaties are followed.

The European Parliament or the EU Parliament consists of 751 MEPs in representation of the more than 507 million citizens in the EU. In this parliament, law proposals that are applied in all the Union are discussed in this parliament.

MEPs are elected in the European elections, which are held every five years. Everyone over the legal age who lives in one of the 28 member countries has the right to vote.

The heads of state of the member countries (presidents, prime ministers and chancellors) meet at the European Council to decide which ones are the EU’s priority policies.

Together with the President of the Council and the President of the European Commission, the members of the Council meet at least twice every semester (although an extraordinary meeting can be called to deal with urgent matters).

On the other hand, the ministers of the member countries meet in the Council of the European Union, also known as “The Council”, to discuss more specific issues.

The members of the Council are responsible for drafting community laws based on the proposals made by the European Commission. The presidency of the Council rotates: every six months one of the member countries takes the lead.

The ministers do not meet regularly, but rather according to the Council’s agenda: if there is an issue of agriculture to be discussed, the ministers of agriculture meet; If a transport problem is to be addressed, the transport ministers meet.

To deliver Justice and to control the Economy

The EU Court of Justice consists of 28 judges, one for each member country of the European Union, and ensures compliance with community laws.

The European Court of Justice is the most important judicial institution of the EU: which means that its decisions go over those made by the courts of each country.

Tribunal de Justicia de la Unión Europea El Tribunal de Justicia de la Unión Europea es una institución, con sede en Luxemburgo, a la que le está encomendada la potestad jurisdiccional en la Unión Europea, su misión es interpretar y aplicar el Derecho de la Unión Europea. El Tribunal es garante de un ordenamiento jurídico propio, que se ve asistido y aplicado también por los sistemas jurídicos nacionales. El Tribunal se encarga de aceptar recursos de particulares y de Estado, y comprobar la compatibilidad con las fuentes del derecho de la UE de los actos de instituciones europeas y gobiernos. Las sentencias tienen carácter vinculante en los Estados miembros. Cada Estado miembro tiene capacidad para nombrar un juez, que va a durar en el cargo 6 años, y se renueva la mitad de la plantilla cada 3 años. #tribunaldejusticia #tribunaldejusticiadelaunioneuropea #europeancourtofjustice #abogados #justicia #jueces #leyes #ley #law #lawyer #attorney #loi #droit #unioneuropea #ue #luxemburgo #viajar #travel #derecho #traveling #arquitectura #derechoeuropeo #europa

A post shared by derecho y abogados (@derechoyabogados) on

The European Central Bank (ECB) is the main economic institution of the 19 member countries that have the euro as their currency: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Spain, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, and Portugal.

As a central bank, the ECB controls the money supply (how much money is in circulation), offers loans to member countries and is responsible for issuing new notes and coins when necessary.

For its part, the European Court of Auditors (ECA) is responsible for monitoring community budgets and ensuring that public money received by Member States is managed correctly.

Translated by Chaplin’s Languages | Find out more in Junior Report



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here